euro jet updates on travel restrictions in eu+ area

June 17, 2020

Euro Jet announced that on June 15, 2020, the EU Commission recommendation to ban all non-essential travel into the European Union and associated countries expired.

This recommendation for countries to impose temporary travel restrictions has been in place since March 16, 2020. These countries include the Schengen Member States, including Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania, and four Schengen Associated States – Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland.

As of June 15, the majority of these countries updated their travel restrictions and opened their borders to some extent. As per Commission recommendations, the lifting of travel restrictions should be phased and each country can specify the conditions for entry of incoming passengers as well as the for the outgoing travel of its citizens.

Find below the updated overview of Euro Jet’s core region countries of the EU+ area and their current travel restrictions and measures.


Travel restrictions: Citizens of EU member states, the UK, states of Schengen area, San Marino, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina and Montenegro, family members or persons who are in cohabitation with Bulgarian citizens, individuals holding Bulgarian permanent or long-term residence permit and their family members are allowed to enter Bulgaria.14 days quarantine requirement remains valid for travelers from Sweden, Great Britain, Northern Ireland, Belgium and Portugal.


Travel restrictions: Citizens of these states can enter Croatia without any restrictions: Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia and Germany. The entry of citizens from other countries is subject to specific requirements.

Czech Republic

Travel restrictions: As of 15 June 2020, the Czech Republic divided the European countries into three groups according to a level of risk of COVID-19 – low, medium and high risk. Citizens from low risk countries can enter without any limitations. Citizens and residents from medium and high-risk countries can enter with appropriate documents, including a negative COVID test certificate or mandatory quarantine. The entry of citizens from other countries is regulated and is subject to specific requirements.


Travel restrictions: Incoming visitors arriving from the European Union, the Schengen countries or the United Kingdom can enter the country, provided they have no symptoms of COVID-19. No quarantine period is required. Passengers arriving from other countries may enter Estonia under certain conditions.


Travel restrictions: Entry into the country is allowed without any restrictions for nationals of Austria, Czechia, Croatia, Germany and Slovakia. Entry of citizens from other countries is regulated and subject to specific requirements.


Travel restrictions: Arrivals from Schengen region citizens is unrestricted. Other foreign nationals may be permitted into the country, depending on the purpose of the flight.


Travel restrictions: Lithuanian government has approved that passengers coming from certain European countries will not be the subject to 14 days of self-isolation upon arrival. The “safe list” of these EU countries is updated every Monday. Currently, passengers coming from Ireland and Belgium can enter Lithuania, but will be subject to a 14-day self-isolation period. Travel is prohibited from Sweden, Portugal, and the UK, where the number of COVID-19 incidents exceeds 25 cases/100 000 population.


Travel restrictions: As of June 17, EU passport holders may travel to Poland without any restrictions. Non-EU passport holders may travel to Poland, provided that they self-isolate themselves for 14 days after arrival.


Travel restrictions: Unrestricted travel without quarantine from Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Croatia, the Swiss Confederation, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia and Hungary. Flights to and from Belgium, France, Iran, Italy, UK, Netherlands, Spain, USA, Turkey are prohibited. A permit is required for all other countries.


Travel restrictions: Entry into Slovakia is permitted for citizens from 19 countries of European Union (Hungary, Czech Republic, Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Swiss, Slovenia, Croatia, Bulgaria, Greece, Cyprus, Malta, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Finland, Norway, Denmark, Iceland). Visitors from other countries are required to present negative COVID test or self-isolate themselves until they get tested.


Travel restrictions: Borders are almost entirely opened, passengers can enter Slovenia and there is no restrictions on flights. International travel is allowed only via LJLJ, LJMB or LJPZ airports. If the country is on the list of states from which persons may enter the republic of Slovenia, its citizens are not obliged to quarantine for 14 days.