flightsafety instructors receive wright brothers master pilot award

November 30, 2017

FlightSafety International announced that the United States Federal Aviation Administration presented the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award to 10 FlightSafety Instructors during the month of November.

“We are proud that at least 70 FlightSafety Instructors have earned this prestigious recognition to date. Congratulations to all on behalf of our Teammates and Customers.” said Bruce Whitman, Chairman, President & CEO.

Jeff Terrell received the Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award on November 20th at the Wichita Cessna Learning Center. Homer Bentley, Larry Gilbert, George Greene, Roff Sasser and Ron Walters from the Savannah Learning Center were presented the award on November 21st. Edward Borowy, Leland “Lan” Johnson, Mark Mulder and Richard Wingfield were presented the award yesterday at the Dallas/Fort Worth North Center.

The Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award is the most important honor bestowed upon pilots by the FAA under Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR) part 61. It is earned by pilots who have exhibited professionalism, skill, and aviation expertise for at least 50 years. To be eligible for the award, individuals must hold a U.S. Civil Aviation Authority or Federal Aviation Administration pilot certificate. They must have 50 or more years of civil and military flying experience.

“FlightSafety is fortunate to have more than 1,800 highly qualified and experienced Instructors,” added Bruce Whitman. “These exceptional men and women are FlightSafety’s most important assets. They deliver the highest quality training to commercial, government and military Customers at our Learning Centers and training facilities around the world. We are most appreciative of their many contributions.”